Times Pakistan
Daily News & Headlines

Polling for AJK elections held peacefully in KP

Peshawar   –  Polling for two reserved seats of the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir elections was held peacefully in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Sunday.

The polling for LA XLV Kashmir Velley-VI and LA-XXXIX Jammu-VI constituencies, which was started at 8am, continued without break till 5pm.  No untoward incident was reported from any district of KP.

Voters in the premises of polling stations were allowed to cast votes after 5 pm.

After Zuhar prayer, registered Kashmiris voters despite scorching heat thronged to polling stations in different districts and polled votes. Long queues of voters were seen at Shaheed Osama Zafar Government High School No 2 polling station Peshawar City besides others polling  stations where they cast votes in a free and transparent manner.

However, the turnout in morning was comparatively low than afternoon time.

Later on, counting of votes was started in presence of political agents of the candidates.

Great enthusiasm was witnessed among Kashmiris including young voters inside and outside of the polling stations on the election day 

Candidates have setup polling camps outside polling stations to facilitate voters. Young voters were kept informed about their votes’ numbers in the voters’ lists and polling procedure.

Kashmiris living in 21 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa voted for LA-XLV Kashmir Valley-VI seat where close contest was expected among Ahmad Shahid Mushtaq (Football), Abdul Majid Khan (PTI), Abdul Nasir Khan (Truck) and Noorul Bari (JI).

In Mardan district, Kashmiri voters casted votes at two polling stations setup at Government Girls High School College Chowk in a peaceful atmosphere. 

Similarly in Bannu district, polling was peacefully held at Government Degree College No 2 Bannu where polling booths for both constituencies were setup.

Kashmiris settled in Peshawar, Nowshera, Mardan, Abbottabad, Haripur, Mansehra, Dera Ismail Khan, Bannu, South Waziristan, Swat, Batgram, Buner, Tank, Charsadda, Chitral, Shangla, Swabi, Kohat, Kohistan, Lakki Marwat, Lower Dir and Mohmand also  exercised right of franchise for LA-XLV Kashmir Velley-XI in a free and transparent manner.

Total registered voters in the constituency were 6,951 including 3,860 male and 3,091 female for whom 41 polling stations including seven for male, nine for female and 25 combined were setup.

Likewise, 64 polling booths were established including 29 for male, 32 female and three combined.

As many 41 presiding officers supervised the polling process with the assistance of polling officers and assistant returning officers.

Kashmiri voters in large number also polled votes for LA-XXXIX Jammu-VI seat consists of 23 districts in two provinces including Rawalpindi, Islamabad, Attock, Jhelum, Chakwal, Peshawar, Nowshera, Mardan, Kohat, Buner, Charsadda, Karak, Kohistan, Mohmand, Abbottabad, Haripur, Mansehra, Dera Ismail Khan, Bannu, Swat, Swabi, Upper Dir and Chitral.

A total of 13 candidates were in the run for the constituency including Chaudhary Fakhar Zaman (PPP), Nazia Niaz (PTI) and Raja Sadeeq (PMLN).

The law enforcement agencies and police were deployed outside the polling stations and arms, ammunition and mobile phones were not allowed inside polling stations.

Leave a comment