Times Pakistan
Daily News & Headlines

Three uncapped players named in Zimbabwe squad for Pakistan T20Is

HARARE – The Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has named a 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan. Pakistan is coming off an ODI and T20I series victory over South Africa in South Africa where they won the ODI series 2-1 and the four-match T20I series 3-1.

Chamu Chibhabha, the regular limited-overs captain of Zimbabwe, is still out of contention after he had previously missed the series against Afghanistan due to injury and in his place, Zimbabwe Cricket has named Test captain Sean Williams as skipper for the T20I series as well. Zimbabwe cricket also named three uncapped players in the 15-man squad, batsman Tadiwanashe Marumani, pacer Tanaka Chivanga, and spinner Tapiwa Mufudza. All three new faces have been selected on the basis of their excellent performances in the domestic T20 tournament.

The other changes also see the experienced duo of Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine making their comebacks into the Zimbabwe team. The duo had missed out on the last series against Afghanistan due to health issues. The inclusion of the veterans will give a huge boost to the Zimbabwe side. Luke Jongwe, who last played international cricket for Zimbabwe in January 2016, has also returned to the squad.

However, one big name missing from the squad is that of all-rounder Sikandar Raza who is still recovering from his upper arm injury. Apart from these changes, Richmond Mutumbami, Milton Shumba, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, and Faraz Akram have been dropped from the side altogether. Zimbabwe Cricket has also named Musakanda, Ainsley Ndlovu, and Bradley Evans as stand-by players in the squad. 

The T20I series between Zimbabwe and Pakistan begins on April 21 and will be played behind closed doors at Harare Sports Club. The second and third T20I will be played on April 23 and 25. The Pakistan and Zimbabwe teams will also play two Test matches, as the first Test will begin from April 29 while the second one will commence from May 7. 


Sean Williams (captain), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano.

Leave a comment